Hosted By Dave Zirin - Sports Editor at the Nation
As Seen On ESPN, CNN, FS1, NBC

Posts tagged with ‘ripmuhammadali’

Muhammad Ali’s Funeral: Live From Louisville

image

Today we bring you the emotions, sounds, and voices of Muhammad Ali’s funeral in Louisville. This was a day that will go down in history as the last act of resistance by the 20th century’s most iconic fighter. People came to pay respects from near and far, both young and old, in every shade of color, media professionals and everyday folks alike…all bound together by a love for our hero: Ali. This show is dedicated to our LBGT - and specifically Latino LGBT - brothers and sisters who were killed in Orlando the very day after Ali’s funeral. We address this horrific juxtaposition with a statement against anti-LGBT and anti-Muslim bigotry.

Column: ‘Sleep Easy, My Brother’ http://thenation.com/article/sleep-easy-my-brother
Column: ‘The Orlando Killings and the Message of Muhammad Ali’s Funeral’ http://thenation.com/article/the-orlando-killings-and-the-message-of-muhammad-alis-funeral/
The Ali Center: http://alicenter.org
Ali’s entire interfaith memorial: https://youtu.be/NBX59J-ltuA
Ali’s Muslim Janazah memorial: https://youtu.be/_xMTGnHoHS8
Ali’s entire memorial procession: https://youtu.be/G5ZDZMLfgqY

Special thanks: The Ali Center, The Nation, Panoply, Andy Bowers, Democracy Now, Amy Goodman, Dalia Mogahed and her family, Howard Bryant, the staff of Broadway Digital, WBAI, Mike Pesca, Mary Wilson, the MSNBC crew in Louisville, Craig Melvin, Brian Williams, Dr. Harry Edwards, Jim Embry, Dedrick Rashad Hough, and Julius Denson II.

Music: (Louisville’s own) Jerry Tolson — March Of The Contradi http://jerrytolson.com | Yusef Lateef - Love Theme From Spartacus http://yuseflateef.com


| http://twitter.com/edgeofsports | http://fb.com/edgeofsportspod | email us: edgeofsports@slate.com

Bob Lipsyte on Writing Black Superman’s Obit & Kavitha Davidson

image

Only one man who could write the New York Times obituary of Muhammad Ali. Bob Lipsyte covered Ali for 52 years and continues our special week of coverage for The Champ. Then, writer and commentator Kavitha Davidson speaks about Ali’s cultural impact and examines the possible link between two degenerative brain diseases: Parkinson’s, which plagued Ali, and CTE, which is detected in the brains of more and more football players. Our closing song today is by Johnny Wakelin & The Kinshasa Band, “Black Superman, Muhammad Ali.”

Lipsyte: Muhammad Ali Dies at 74: Titan of Boxing and the 20th Century http://nyti.ms/1sUHBHj
Lipsyte articles in the Times: http://topics.nytimes.com/top/reference/timestopics/people/l/robert_lipsyte/index.html
Kavitha Davidson: http://twitter.com/kavithadavidson
Kavitha Davidson articles in Bloomberg View: http://www.bloomberg.com/view/contributors/ARmrUVik0io/kavitha-a-davidson
Muhammad Ali, Black Superman: https://youtu.be/cq04qeVMCQE

| http://twitter.com/edgeofsports | http://fb.com/edgeofsportspod | email us: edgeofsports@slate.com

Load More